2018 Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the 2018 Award Winners. Each presenter will accept their award during the date and time listed below. 

Rose Payne Award

Thalachallour Mohanakumar, PhD, D(ABHI), HCLD/CC (ABB)
Norton Thoracic Institute Research Laboratory

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
8:30 am - 9:30 am

The Rose Payne Distinguished Scientist Award was established in 1984 to honor a great scientist and to recognize her long-standing contributions to the field of immunogenetics and her support in the development of the Society.

The 2018 Rose Payne Awardee is Thalachallour Mohanakumar, PhD, D(ABHI), HCLD/CC (ABB), Director of the Norton Thoracic Institute Research Laboratory, Chair of Translational Sciences and Clinical HLA Consultant for Solid Organ Transplants is an internationally renowned organ transplantation scientist and an exceptional collaborator and mentor.


Paul I. Terasaki Clinical Science Award

Jon A Kobashigawa, MD
Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute

Thursday, October 4, 2018
8:00 am - 9:30 am

The Paul I. Terasaki Clinical Science Award was established in 2003 to honor an individual, group, or institution in recognition of significant accomplishments and/or contributions to the fields of clinical transplantation, histocompatibility, and immunogenetics. This award was made possible by a grant from the Paul I. Terasaki Foundation.

The 2018 Paul I. Terasaki Clinical Science Awardee is Jon A Kobashigawa, MD, associate director of the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute, director of the Advanced Heart Disease Section, director of the Heart Transplant Program and professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai. He holds the DSL/Thomas D. Gordon Chair in Heart Transplantation Medicine.


Distinguished Scientist Award

Howard M. Gebel, PhD, D(ABHI)
Emory University School of Medicine

Thursday, October 4, 2018
8:00 am - 9:30 am

The ASHI Distinguished Scientist Award was established in 2001 to honor a distinguished scientist who is an ASHI member. This individual must have contributed significantly to the field of immunogenetics and/or transplant immunology.

The 2018 Distinguised Scientist Awardee is Howard M. Gebel, PhD, D(ABHI), Professor of Pathology and Co-Director of the Histocompatibility and Molecular Immunogenetics Laboratory at Emory University since 2001. 



Outstanding Technologist Award

Anne Halpin, MSc
University of Alberta

Tuesday, October 2, 2018
8:00 am - 8:30 am

To honor outstanding technologists, past and present, the Outstanding Technologist Award is presented annually to a technologist who has provided outstanding contributions to the field of histocompatibility and immunogenetics.

The 2018 Outstanding Technologist Awardee is Anne Halpin, MSc, University of Alberta.


Distinguished Service Award

John A. Gerlach, PhD, D(ABHI)
Michigan State University

Tuesday, October 2, 2018
8:00 am - 8:30 am

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1999 to honor colleagues who have contributed significantly ASHI’s heritage.

The 2018 Distinguised Service Awardee is John A. Gerlach, PhD, D(ABHI), who has spent his whole life at MSU teaching in the Blood Bank, Molecular Diagnostics and Immunodiagnostics in the Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics Program.  He took over the Immunohematology Serology Laboratory from Dr. Bull around 2000. He’s also the laboratory director for the Olin Student Health Services on the MSU campus and has been a consulting director for laboratories in several states.


Rising Star Award

Danielle Christian, BSc, MLT
Calgary Cancer Centre

Tuesday, October 2, 2018
8:00 am - 8:30 am

ASHI established the ASHI/SEOPF Award honoring J. Marilyn MacQueen. Marilyn was active in immunogenetics and histocompatibility testing since 1964, and was committed to helping young technologists in ASHI or SEOPF-accredited laboratories worldwide. The ASHI/SEOPF J. Marilyn MacQueen Award is presented annually to an outstanding HLA technologist who has worked in the field for less than 36 months and wants to pursue a career in HLA. In 2013, the award was renamed the Rising Star Award

The 2018 Rising Star Awardee is Danielle Christian, BSc, MLT, Calgary Cancer Centre, Edmonton, AB, CAN.

2018 Abstract Scholar Awardees

International Scholar Awardee

Rainer Blasczyk, MD
Hannover Medical School, Institute of Transfusion Medicine
Hannover, Germany

Scholar Awardee
Fang Li, PhD
UCLA Immunogenetics Center
Los Angeles, CA, USA

Scholar Awardee
Kazutoyo Osoegawa, PhD, CHT(ABHI)
Stanford Blood Center
Palo Alto, CA, USA

Scholar Awardee
Aiwen Zhang, PhD, D(ABHI)
Allogen Laboratories/Cleveland Clinics
Cleveland, OH, USA